Marriage Act 1955

  • not the latest version
  • This version was replaced on 3 May 2017 to make corrections to sections 25(3) and 60(c) under section 25(1)(j)(ii) of the Legislation Act 2012.

Schedule 1 Religious bodies

s 9(1)


The Church of the Province of New Zealand, commonly called the Church of England

Congregational Independents

The Greek Orthodox Church

All Hebrew Congregations

The Lutheran Churches

The Methodist Church of New Zealand

The Presbyterian Church of New Zealand

The Roman Catholic Church

The Salvation Army

Schedule 1: amended, on 27 November 1970, by section 2 of the Marriage Amendment Act 1970 (1970 No 84).