Territorial Sea, Contiguous Zone, and Exclusive Economic Zone Act 1977

  • This version was replaced on 2 May 2017 to make a correction to section 6A(2)(b) under section 25(1)(j)(ii) of the Legislation Act 2012.
  • Previous title has changed

Part 1 The territorial sea of New Zealand

3 The territorial sea

The territorial sea of New Zealand comprises those areas of the sea having, as their inner limits, the baseline described in sections 5 and 6 and 6A and, as their outer limits, a line measured seaward from that baseline, every point of which line is distant 12 nautical miles from the nearest point of the baseline.

Section 3: amended, on 1 August 1996, by section 3(1) of the Territorial Sea and Exclusive Economic Zone Amendment Act 1996 (1996 No 74).