171 Membership of council


The council of an institution must have a total of 8, 9, 10, 11, or 12 members, as provided in its constitution, comprising—


the following number of members appointed by the Minister by written notice to the council:


4 members (in the case of a council comprising 10, 11, or 12 members):


3 members (in the case of a council comprising 8 or 9 members); and


enough members appointed by the council by resolution, in accordance with its statutes, to bring the membership up to that total number.


Subsection (1) does not apply to the membership of the council of a designated polytechnic (for which sections 222AA and 222AM provide).

Section 171: replaced, on 13 February 2015, by section 7 of the Education Amendment Act 2015 (2015 No 1).