Subpart 2—Classes of gambling


20 Overview


This Act divides gambling into the following 6 legal classes:


class 1 gambling (no licence required):


class 2 gambling (no licence required):


class 3 gambling (class 3 operator’s licence required):


class 4 gambling (class 4 operator’s and venue licences required):


casino gambling (casino operator’s and venue licences required):


gambling conducted by the Lotteries Commission.


Additionally, this Act—


authorises private gambling; and


authorises sales promotion schemes; and


recognises gambling authorised by or under the Racing Act 2003.