Distribution committees

280 Distribution committees


For the purposes of this subpart, the Minister may, by notice in the Gazette, establish such number of distribution committees as he or she thinks fit.


A distribution committee consists of the number of persons that the Minister thinks fit, being not less than 3 nor more than 5 persons.


The members of each distribution committee are to be appointed by the Minister having regard to the appointees’ knowledge, skills, and experience relating to the functions and powers of the distribution committee.


The Minister must appoint a member of each committee to be the presiding member.


The Minister may vary the purposes in respect of which any distribution committee has been established, and may disestablish any distribution committee.


Part 2 of Schedule 5 applies in relation to the members and proceedings of distribution committees.


A notice given under subsection (1) is a disallowable instrument, but not a legislative instrument, for the purposes of the Legislation Act 2012 and must be presented to the House of Representatives under section 41 of that Act.

Compare: 1977 No 84 s 116K

Section 280(7): replaced, on 5 August 2013, by section 77(3) of the Legislation Act 2012 (2012 No 119).