Health and Safety at Work Act 2015

Designated agencies

191 Designated agencies


The Prime Minister may designate an agency listed in subsection (3) as a designated agency, having regard to the specialist knowledge of that agency.


A designation under subsection (1) must be made by notice in the Gazette and must specify the scope of the designated agency’s role (scope of designation) by reference to—


a particular industry, sector, or type of work or circumstance; and


the functions or powers (or both) of the regulator under this Act, or any other enactment, that the designated agency may perform or exercise in respect of the particular industry, sector, or type of work or circumstance.


The agencies are—


the chief executive of a department or departmental agency (within the meaning of section 27A of the State Sector Act 1988):


a Crown entity (within the meaning of section 7 of the Crown Entities Act 2004):


the Commissioner of Police:


the Chief of Defence Force.


A designation under subsection (1) is a disallowable instrument, but not a legislative instrument, for the purposes of the Legislation Act 2012 and must be presented to the House of Representatives under section 41 of that Act.

Compare: 1992 No 96 s 28B