Crown Minerals Act (Schedule 4) Order 2008



Crown Minerals Act (Schedule 4) Order 2008

Anand Satyanand, Governor-General

Order in Council

At Wellington this 6th day of October 2008

His Excellency the Governor-General in Council

Pursuant to section 61(4) of the Crown Minerals Act 1991, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting on the advice and with the consent of the Executive Council, and on the recommendation of the Minister of Energy and the Minister of Conservation, makes the following order.


1 Title
  • This order is the Crown Minerals Act (Schedule 4) Order 2008.

2 Commencement
  • This order comes into force on the 28th day after the date of its notification in the Gazette.

3 Schedule 4 of Crown Minerals Act 1991 amended
  • Schedule 4 of the Crown Minerals Act 1991 is amended by adding the descriptions of areas set out in the Schedule of this order.

Descriptions of areas added to Schedule 4 of Crown Minerals Act 1991

cl 3

  • 13 The following marine reserves established under the Marine Reserves Act 1971:

    • (a) Auckland Islands—Motu Maha Marine Reserve (SR 2003/389):

    • (b) Kapiti Marine Reserve (SR 1992/71):

    • (c) Long Bay-Okura Marine Reserve (SR 1995/215):

    • (d) Long Island—Kokomohua Marine Reserve (SR 1993/72):

    • (e) Motu Manawa-Pollen Island Marine Reserve (SR 1995/216):

    • (f) Piopiotahi (Milford Sound) Marine Reserve (SR 1993/315):

    • (g) Pohatu Marine Reserve (SR 1999/162):

    • (h) Te Angiangi Marine Reserve (SR 1997/130):

    • (i) Te Awaatu Channel (The Gut) Marine Reserve (SR 1993/316):

    • (j) Te Matuku Marine Reserve (SR 2005/205):

    • (k) Te Tapuwae o Rongokako Marine Reserve (SR 1999/351):

    • (l) Tonga Island Marine Reserve (SR 1993/338):

    • (m) Tuhua (Mayor Island) Marine Reserve (SR 1992/386):

    • (n) Ulva Island—Te Wharawhara Marine Reserve (SR 2004/398):

    • (o) Westhaven (Te Tai Tapu) Marine Reserve (SR 1994/56):

    • (p) Whanganui A Hei (Cathedral Cove) Marine Reserve (SR 1992/387).

  • 14 The following marine reserves established by section 7(1) of the Fiordland (Te Moana o Atawhenua) Marine Management Act 2005:

    • (a) Hawea (Clio Rocks) Marine Reserve:

    • (b) Kahukura (Gold Arm) Marine Reserve:

    • (c) Kutu Parera (Gaer Arm) Marine Reserve:

    • (d) Moana Uta (Wet Jacket Arm) Marine Reserve:

    • (e) Taipari Roa (Elizabeth Island) Marine Reserve:

    • (f) Taumoana (Five Finger Peninsula) Marine Reserve:

    • (g) Te Hapua (Sutherland Sound) Marine Reserve:

    • (h) Te Tapuwae o Hua (Long Sound) Marine Reserve.

  • 15 The following national parks or parts of national parks constituted under the National Parks Act 1980:

    • (a) Arthur's Pass National Park additions (Gazette 7 July 1994, p 2227):

    • (b) Fiordland National Park addition in relation to Waitutu Forest (Gazette 23 September 1999, p 3211):

    • (c) Kahurangi National Park (Gazette 4 April 1996, p 977):

    • (d) Kahurangi National Park addition (Gazette 28 March 2002, p 807):

    • (e) Paparoa National Park eastern additions (Gazette 28 March 2002, p 807, excluding Area B shown on SO 302281 (formerly part Section 1, SO 15152)):

    • (f) Paparoa National Park western additions (Gazette 25 July 2002, p 2317):

    • (g) Rakiura National Park (SR 2002/6):

    • (h) Westland National Park additions (Gazette 28 March 2002, p 808).

  • 16 The following areas declared to be wilderness areas under the Conservation Act 1987:

    • (a) Adams Wilderness Area (Gazette 22 May 2003, p 1380):

    • (b) Paparoa Wilderness Area (Gazette 1 July 2004, p 2073).

  • 17 The following reserves under the Reserves Act 1977:

    • (a) a scientific reserve in the Mackenzie District (Gazette 29 August 1996, p 2465):

    • (b) Tuku Nature Reserve (Chatham Islands) (Gazette 15 August 1996, p 2269):

    • (c) Whatipu Scientific Reserve (Gazette 26 September 2002, p 3776).

Rebecca Kitteridge,
Clerk of the Executive Council.

Explanatory note

This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect.

This order, which comes into force on the 28th day after its notification in the Gazette, adds descriptions of certain marine areas, national parks, and wilderness areas to Schedule 4 of the Crown Minerals Act 1991. Areas described in Schedule 4 are subject to section 61(1A) of the Crown Minerals Act 1991, which limits the granting of access arrangements for the purposes of carrying out mineral-related activities in respect of certain land and waters.

Issued under the authority of the Acts and Regulations Publication Act 1989.

Date of notification in Gazette: 9 October 2008.

This order is administered by the Ministry of Economic Development.