Education (Specified Institutions) Order 2015


Coat of Arms of New Zealand

Education (Specified Institutions) Order 2015

Jerry Mateparae, Governor-General

Order in Council

At Wellington this 4th day of May 2015

The Right Hon John Key presiding in Council

Pursuant to section 92(4) of the Education Act 1989, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting on the advice and with the consent of the Executive Council, makes the following order.


1 Title

This order is the Education (Specified Institutions) Order 2015.

2 Commencement

This order comes into force on 1 July 2015.

3 Interpretation

In this order, Act means the Education Act 1989.

4 Schedule 5 of Act amended


Schedule 5 of the Act is amended by repealing the items listed in Part 1 of the Schedule of this order.


Schedule 5 of the Act is amended by inserting in their appropriate alphabetical order the items listed in Part 2 of the Schedule of this order.

Schedule Amendments to Schedule 5 of Act

cl 4

Part 1 Items repealed

Felix Donnelly College, Tuakau

Glenburn Centre School, Auckland

Hogben School, Christchurch

Homai Vision Education Centre, Auckland

Kelston School for the Deaf, Auckland

McKenzie Residential School, Christchurch

Northern Hospitals School, Auckland

Van Asch College, Christchurch

Waimokoia School, Auckland

Part 2 Items inserted

Blind and Low Vision Education Network NZ, Auckland

Halswell Residential College, Christchurch

Kelston Deaf Education Centre, Auckland

Northern Health School, Auckland

Van Asch Deaf Education Centre, Christchurch

Westbridge Residential School, Auckland

Michael Webster,
Clerk of the Executive Council.

Explanatory note

This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect.

This order, which comes into force on 1 July 2015, amends the list of special institutions in Schedule 5 of the Education Act 1989 (the Act).

A special institution listed in Schedule 5 of the Act must have the composition of its board of trustees determined by the Minister of Education.

The effect of the amendments is to—

  • omit from the list the following institutions, which have now closed:

    • Felix Donnelly College:

    • McKenzie Residential School:

    • Waimokoia School:

  • recognise that the following institutions have had name changes:

    • Glenburn Centre School is now called Westbridge Residential School:

    • Hogben School is now called Halswell Residential College:

    • Homai Vision Education Centre is now called Blind and Low Vision Education Network NZ:

    • Kelston School for the Deaf is now called Kelston Deaf Education Centre:

    • Northern Hospitals School is now called Northern Health School:

    • Van Asch College is now called Van Asch Deaf Education Centre.

Issued under the authority of the Legislation Act 2012.

Date of notification in Gazette: 7 May 2015.

This order is administered by the Ministry of Education.