Supplementary Order Paper No 10

No 10

House of Representatives

Supplementary Order Paper

Tuesday, 24 March 2009

Land Transport Amendment Bill (No 4)

Proposed amendments

Steven Joyce, in Committee, to move the following amendments:

New clause 3A

To insert the following clause above clause 4 (above line 14 on page 4):

3A Short Title and commencement
  • Section 1(4) is repealed.

New clause 15A

To insert the following clause after clause 15 (after line 37 on page 9):

15A Strict liability for offences involving insecure loads and loads falling from vehicles
  • Section 134(4)(a) is amended by omitting until the close of 30 June 2009, unless the provisions are sooner revoked,.

New clauses 17A to 17E inserted

To insert the following clauses after clause 17 (after line 18 on page 10):

17A Repeals
  • Section 214(3) is amended by omitting 1 July 2009 and substituting a date to be appointed by the Governor-General by Order in Council.

17B Transitional regulations
  • Section 216(b) is amended by omitting or Part 2 of the Transport (Vehicle and Driver Registration and Licensing) Act 1986.

17C Expiry of section 216
  • Section 217 is repealed.

17D Regulations and other enactments having effect under this Act
  • (1) Section 218(1)(e) to (j) are repealed.

    (2) Section 218(2)(a), (c), (d), and (f) are repealed.

17E Expiry of section 218
  • Section 219 is repealed.

Schedule 1

To insert the following item after the item relating to section 168(1)(a) (after line 15 on page 37):

Schedule 2: heading to Part 5

Omit 1 July 2009 and substitute date or dates appointed by Order in Council.

Schedule 2

To insert the following item after the item relating to the Injury Prevention, Rehabilitation, and Compensation Act 2001 (after line 2 on page 39):

Land Transport Amendment Act (No 2) 2006 (2006 No 30)

Repeal section 2(1).

Repeal section 6.

Explanatory note

This Supplementary Order Paper amends the Land Transport Amendment Bill (No 4). The amendments preserve provisions that are due to expire under the Land Transport Act 1998 on 1 July 2009.