Civil Service Act 1908

  • repealed
  • Civil Service Act 1908: repealed, on 7 August 2020, by section 132(2) of the Public Service Act 2020 (2020 No 40).

Reprint as at 7 August 2020

Civil Service Act 1908

Public Act
1908 No 23
Date of assent
4 August 1908

Civil Service Act 1908: repealed, on 7 August 2020, by section 132(2) of the Public Service Act 2020 (2020 No 40).


Changes authorised by subpart 2 of Part 2 of the Legislation Act 2012 have been made in this reprint. See the notes at the end of this reprint for further details.


1Short Title
2Persons excepted from operation of Act
3Persons may be employed temporarily [Repealed]
4Qualifications of persons appointed to Civil Service [Repealed]
5Messengers’ qualifications [Repealed]
6Competitive examination [Repealed]
7Civil servant a three-monthly servant [Repealed]
8Modification as to bailiffs and constables appointed Clerk of District Court [Repealed]
9Limit of salary until examination passed [Repealed]
10Railway staff exempted [Repealed]
11Post and Telegraph Department may be excepted from operation of Act [Repealed]
12Abolition and consolidation of offices [Repealed]
13Regulations [Repealed]
14Forfeiture of office [Repealed]
15Dismissal [Repealed]
16Misconduct [Repealed]
17Deduction of fines [Repealed]
18Inquiry [Repealed]
19Leave of absence [Repealed]
20Furlough [Repealed]
21Leave of absence on retirement [Repealed]
22To whom this Part does not apply [Repealed]
23To whom it does apply [Repealed]
24Regulations [Repealed]
25Operation of regulations [Repealed]
26Acts providing for security not to operate when officer guaranteed under this Act [Repealed]
27Regulations to provide for contribution from Consolidated Fund [Repealed]
28Pensions only to be granted hereunder
29Former provisions as to deductions from salaries continued as to certain officers
30Rights of certain officers under Civil Service Act 1866, [Repealed] to superannuation allowances
31Act to be construed subject to certain enactments
Reprint notes

BE IT ENACTED by the General Assembly of New Zealand in Parliament assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows:—