Wildlife Act 1953

If you need more information about this Act, please contact the administering agency: Department of Conservation
  • not the latest version

Schedule 6
Animals declared to be noxious animals subject to the Noxious Animals Act 1956

Section 7A

  • This Schedule was inserted by section 2(2)(b) of the Wildlife Amendment Act 1956.

  • Mammals—

    • Deer—

      • Axis deer (Axis axis).

      • Chamois (Rupicapra rupicapra).

      • Fallow deer (Dama dama).

      • Japanese deer (Sika nippon).

      • Javan rusa deer (Cervus timoriensis).

      • Moose (Alces americana).

      • Red deer (Cervus elaphus).

      • Sambar deer (Cervus unicolor).

      • Virginian deer (Odocoileus virginianus).

      • Wapiti (Cervus canadensis).

      • Any other member of the family Cervidae.

    • Goat (Capra).

    • Himalayan tahr (Hemitragus jemlahicus)

    • Pig (Sus).

    • Possum (family Phalangeridae)

    • Wallaby (family Macropodidae).

  • Schedule 6: amended, on 8 July 2010, by clause 3 of the Wildlife Order 2010 (SR 2010/159).

  • The Noxious Animals Act 1956 was repealed and replaced by the Wild Animal Control Act 1977 which does not contain any reference to noxious animals. See however, the definition of wild animal in section 2 of that Act.