Wildlife Act 1953

If you need more information about this Act, please contact the administering agency: Department of Conservation
  • not the latest version

Schedule 7A
Marine species declared to be animals

  • Schedule 7A was inserted, as from 1 October 1996, by section 316(1) Fisheries Act 1996 (1996 No 88). See clause 2 Fisheries Act Commencement Order (No 2) 1996 (SR 1996/255).


Anthozoa (corals and sea anemones)—

  • Black corals—

    • all species in the order Antipatharia

  • Gorgonian corals—

    • all species in the order Gorgonacea

  • Stony corals—

    • all species in the order Scleractinia

Hydrozoa (hydra-like animals)—

  • Hydrocorals—

    • all species in the family Stylasteridae


Chondrichthyes (cartilaginous fishes)—

  • Lamniformes (mackerel sharks)—

    • Deepwater nurse shark (Odontaspis ferox)

    • White pointer shark (Carcharodon carcharias)

  • Orectolobiformes (carpet sharks)—

    • Whale shark (Rhincodon typus)

  • Rajiformes (skates and rays)—

    • Manta ray (Manta birostris)

    • Spinetail devil ray (spinetail mobula) (Mobula japanica)

Osteichthyes (bony fishes)—

  • Perciformes (perch-like fishes)—

    • Giant grouper (Queensland grouper) (Epinephelus lanceolatus)

    • Spotted black grouper (Epinephelus daemelii)

  • Schedule 7A: amended, on 8 July 2010, by clause 3 of the Wildlife Order 2010 (SR 2010/159).