Marriage Act 1955

If you need more information about this Act, please contact the administering agency: Ministry of Justice

Schedule 1 Religious bodies

s 8(1)


The Church of the Province of New Zealand, commonly called the Church of England

Congregational Independents

The Greek Orthodox Church

All Hebrew Congregations

The Lutheran Churches

The Methodist Church of New Zealand

The Presbyterian Church of New Zealand

The Roman Catholic Church

The Salvation Army

Schedule 1: amended, on 27 November 1970, by section 2 of the Marriage Amendment Act 1970 (1970 No 84).