Cook Islands Constitution Act 1964

If you need more information about this Act, please contact the administering agency: Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade
  • This version was reprinted on 17 March 2016 to make corrections to the Schedule under section 25(1)(j)(i) and (iv) of the Legislation Act 2012.
  • This Act does not include amendments to the Constitution since commencement. See for updated versions.

Schedule The Constitution of the Cook Islands


2The Head of State
3High Commissioner of the Cook Islands
4Oath of office
5High Commissioner to act on advice
6Information to High Commissioner
7Deputy of the High Commissioner
8The House of Arikis of the Cook Islands
9Functions of House of Arikis
10Members to take Oath of Allegiance
11Attendance of Premier and other persons at House of Arikis
11BPrivileges of House of Arikis and its members
12Executive authority
14Duration of office of members of Cabinet
15Official oath
16Assignment of responsibilities to Ministers
17Summoning of Cabinet
18Cabinet procedure
19When decision of Cabinet takes effect
20Secretary to the Cabinet
21One Minister may act for another
22Executive Council
23Clerk of the Executive Council
24Meetings of Executive Council
25Consideration of Cabinet decisions by Executive Council
26Seal of the Cook Islands
27Legislative Assembly of the Cook Islands
28Nationality and residential qualifications of electors and candidates
29Meetings of Legislative Assembly
30Members to take Oath of Allegiance
31The Speaker of the Legislative Assembly
32Tenure of office of Speaker
33Deputy Speaker
36Privileges of Legislative Assembly and of its members
37Prorogation and dissolution of Legislative Assembly
38Clerk of the Legislative Assembly
39Power to make laws
40No property to be taken compulsorily without compensation
41Power of Legislative Assembly to repeal or amend this Constitution
42Introduction of Bills, etc, into Legislative Assembly
43Restrictions with regard to financial measures
44Assent to Bills by High Commissioner
45Commencement of Acts
46Power of New Zealand Parliament to legislate for the Cook Islands
47High Court established
48Judges and Commissioners of the High Court
49Commissioners of the High Court
50Acting Chief Judge of the High Court
51Acting Judge of the High Court
52Land Court established
53Judges and Commissioners of the Land Court
54Commissioners of the Land Court
55Land Appellate Court of the Cook Islands
56Judges of the Land Appellate Court
57Appointment of Judges and Commissioners
58Tenure of office of Judges and Commissioners
59Removal of Judges from office
60Salaries of Judges
61Appeal from High Court to Supreme Court of New Zealand
62Transmission of order of Supreme Court on appeal
63No appeal to Court of Appeal
64Justices of the Peace
65Oath of Allegiance and Judicial Oath
66The Judicial Service Commission
67Public Funds
68Restriction on taxation
69Public revenue
70Revenue and expenditure of Cook Islands Government Account
72The Cook Islands Public Service
73Secretary of the Premier’s Department
74Cook Islands Public Service to be under the control of Secretary of the Premier’s Department
75Staff of Council of State
76Board of Appeal
77Existing law to continue
78High Commissioner of the Cook Islands
79Appointment of first Ariki members of Council of State [Repealed]
80Legislative Assembly of the Cook Islands
81Ordinances of former Legislative Council or Legislative Assembly
82The High Court
83The Land Court
84The Land Appellate Court
85Justices of the Peace
86Cook Islands Government Account
87Secretary of the Premier’s Department
88Power of Governor-General to make regulations