11 Oath of allegiance to be taken by members of Parliament
  • (1) A member of Parliament shall not be permitted to sit or vote in the House of Representatives until that member has taken the Oath of Allegiance in the form prescribed in section 17 of the Oaths and Declarations Act 1957.

    (2) The oath to be taken under this section shall be administered by the Governor-General or a person authorised by the Governor-General to administer that oath.

    Compare: 1950 No 3 s 2(4); New Zealand Constitution Act 1852 s 46 (UK)

    Section 11(2): added, on 10 July 1987, by section 2 of the Constitution Amendment Act 1987 (1987 No 134).