Constitution Act 1986

If you need more information about this Act, please contact the administering agency: Ministry of Justice
17 Term of Parliament
  • (1) The term of Parliament shall, unless Parliament is sooner dissolved, be 3 years from the day fixed for the return of the writs issued for the last preceding general election of members of the House of Representatives, and no longer.

    (2) Section 268 of the Electoral Act 1993 shall apply in respect of subsection (1).

    Compare: 1956 No 107 s 12

    Section 17(2): substituted, on 1 July 1994, by section 271 of the Electoral Act 1993 (1993 No 87).