Māori Language Act 1987

  • repealed
  • Māori Language Act 1987: repealed, on 30 April 2016, by section 48 of Te Ture mō Te Reo Māori 2016/the Māori Language Act 2016 (2016 No 17).

Whereas in the Treaty of Waitangi the Crown confirmed and guaranteed to the Māori people, among other things, all their taonga: And whereas the Māori language is one such taonga.