Crown Minerals Act 1991

If you need more information about this Act, please contact the administering agency: Ministry of Business, Innovation, and Employment

Schedule 4 Land to which access restrictions apply

ss 54A, 61, Schedule 1 cl 9

Schedule 4: replaced, on 24 May 2013, by section 61 of the Crown Minerals Amendment Act 2013 (2013 No 14).

Schedule 4 heading: amended, on 19 February 2019, by section 21 of the Crown Minerals Amendment Act 2019 (2019 No 2).


Any national park (within the meaning of section 2 of the National Parks Act 1980).


Any reserve classified as a nature reserve under section 20 of the Reserves Act 1977.


Any reserve classified as a scientific reserve under section 21 of the Reserves Act 1977.


Any part of a reserve set apart as a wilderness area under section 47(1) of the Reserves Act 1977.


Any conservation area declared under section 18AA or 18(1)of the Conservation Act 1987 as—


a wilderness area; or


a sanctuary area.


Any area declared a wildlife sanctuary under section 9(1) of the Wildlife Act 1953.


Any area declared a marine reserve under section 4(1) of the Marine Reserves Act 1971.


Any land within a wetland and notified to the Ramsar Secretariat by the Minister for the time being responsible for the Ramsar Administrative Authority (as the terms Ramsar Secretariat and Ramsar Administrative Authority are defined in section 2(1) of the Conservation Act 1987).


The area described in the Otahu Dedicated Area Notice 1976 (Gazette 1976, p 654).


The area described in the Parakawai Geological Area Notice 1980 (Gazette 1980, p 2408).


All land—


held, managed, or administered under the Conservation Act 1987, or under any enactment set out in Schedule 1 of that Act, as at 1 October 1991; and


situated on any island in the area bounded by latitude 35°50΄S and latitude 37°10΄S, and longitude 177°E and longitude 174°35΄E, other than the following islands in the Mercury Islands group:


Red Mercury Island (Whakau):


Atiu or Middle Island:


Green Island:


Korapuki Island.


All Crown land—


held, as at 1 October 1991, under the Conservation Act 1987 or any enactment set out in Schedule 1 of that Act; and


situated on the Coromandel Peninsula and lying north and north-west of State Highway 25A (Kopu–Hikuai road) and the road from Hikuai to Pauanui Beach known as the Hikuai Settlement Road.


The internal waters of the Coromandel Peninsula.


The following scenic reserves:


Kaikoura Island Scenic Reserve in Auckland City (Gazette 2004, p 3688):


Rakitu Island Scenic Reserve (Gazette 1995, p 4265).