New Zealand Geographic Board (Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa) Act 2008

If you need more information about this Act, please contact the administering agency: Land Information New Zealand
  • not the latest version
  • This version was replaced on 6 October 2016 to make a correction to section 3(c) under section 25(1)(j)(ii) of the Legislation Act 2012.

Reprint as at 1 July 2014

Coat of Arms of New Zealand

New Zealand Geographic Board (Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa) Act 2008

Public Act
2008 No 30
Date of assent
22 May 2008
see section 2

Changes authorised by subpart 2 of Part 2 of the Legislation Act 2012 have been made in this official reprint.

Note 4 at the end of this reprint provides a list of the amendments incorporated.

This Act is administered by Land Information New Zealand.


5Act to bind the Crown
6Treaty of Waitangi (Te Tiriti o Waitangi)
7Continuation of Board
8Extent of Board’s jurisdiction
9General powers of Board
10Principal functions of Board
11Other functions of Board
12Duties of Board
13Gazetteer to be created by Board
14Annual report
15Proposals may be submitted to Board
16Notification of proposal
18Board to consider submissions and decide on objections
19Determination by Board
20Determination by Minister
21Publication of official geographic names
22Alteration of name of local authority
23Notification of alteration of name of district or region
24Discretion not to give public notice
25Geographic features outside territorial limits
26Adoption of existing names for undersea features
27Process for review
28Process if Board concurs
29Process if Board does not concur
30Process for review if public notice not given
31Names of Crown protected areas
31ARequirement to notify Board if name of Crown protected area discontinued
32Official geographic names must be used
33Injunction may be granted by Court
34Rights of local authorities not affected
35Validation of certain names
36Publication in Gazette
38Consequential amendments
Reprint notes

The Parliament of New Zealand enacts as follows: