Electoral (Administration) Amendment Act 2011

  • not the latest version

Electoral (Administration) Amendment Act 2011

Public Act2011 No 57
Date of assent16 August 2011
Commencementsee section 2


1  Title

2  Commencement

3  Principal Act amended

Part 1
Amendments to principal Act

Subpart 1Provisions coming into force on day after assent

4  Interpretation

5  Powers of Electoral Commission

6  Electoral Commission may delegate functions, duties, or powers to non-employees

7  Registrar of Electors

8  Compulsory registration of electors

9  New section 83A substituted

10  New section 87A inserted

11  Changes of address to be notified

12  Chief Registrar may seek consent of Maori electors to supply of information to designated body

13  Supply of information on age and Maori descent

14  Supply of electoral information to candidates, political parties, and members of Parliament

15  Unpublished names

16  Duty to report suspected offences

17  Assistance to be given to Registrar

18  Power to destroy records

19  Power to resolve in certain cases that by-election not be held

20  Power to resolve in certain cases not to supply vacancy

21  Offence to pay election expenses in excess of prescribed maximum

22  Offence to pay election expenses in excess of prescribed maximum

23  Auditor's report on return of party's election expenses

24  Limit on maximum amount of donations protected from disclosure

25  Personation

26  Disclosure of immigration information for matching purposes

27  Disclosure of personal information for enrolment purposes

Subpart 2Provisions coming into force on 1 July 2012

28  Functions

29  New sections 9 and 9A substituted

30  Section 21 repealed

31  New section 22 substituted

32  Section 23 repealed

Part 2
Consequential amendments and transitional provisions

Subpart 1Provisions coming into force on day after assent

Consequential amendments to principal Act

33  No form of inquiry required if application for registration as elector received

34  Transfer of electors between electorates

35  Applications received after issue of writ

36  False statements or declarations

Consequential amendment to regulations

37  Amendment to Electoral Regulations 1996

Transitional provision approving electronic medium for online re-enrolment and updating

38  Deemed approval of electronic medium called igovt logon service

Transitional provisions relating to abolition of Chief Registrar of Electors

39  Office of Chief Registrar of Electors abolished

40  No compensation for loss of office

41  Crown-owned assets (other than intellectual property) and records that Chief Registrar controls or possesses

42  Liabilities for expenses after 30 June 2012

43  Expenses before 1 July 2012 (whether from commitments before, on, or after 17 August 2009)

44  Expenses after 30 June 2012 from commitments before 18 August 2009

45  Expenses after 30 June 2012 from commitments after 17 August 2009 and before 1 July 2012

46  Matters incomplete on 1 July 2012

47  Proceedings incomplete on 1 July 2012

48  Transitional or savings regulations

Subpart 2Provisions coming into force on 1 July 2012

Consequential amendments to principal Act

49  Interpretation

50  Section 140 repealed

51  Service of notices

52  References to Chief Registrar of Electors

Consequential amendments to other public Acts

53  Amendments to Broadcasting Act 1989

54  Amendments to Citizens Initiated Referenda Act 1993

55  Amendment to Electoral Referendum Act 2010

56  Amendments to Energy Companies Act 1992

57  Amendments to Juries Act 1981

58  Amendments to Local Electoral Act 2001

59  Amendments to Privacy Act 1993

60  Amendments to Referenda (Postal Voting) Act 2000

Consequential amendments to local Act

61  Amendments to Bay of Plenty Regional Council (Maori Constituency Empowering) Act 2001

Consequential amendments to regulations

62  Amendments to Jury Rules 1990

63  Amendment to Local Electoral Regulations 2001

64  Amendment to Referenda (Postal Voting) Regulations 2009

New form substituted

Legislative history

The Parliament of New Zealand enacts as follows: