Hawke's Bay Regional Planning Committee Act 2015



Discussions between the Crown, the Hawke’s Bay Regional Council (the Council), Tūhoe, and tāngata whenua of Hawke’s Bay in the context of Treaty settlement negotiations have identified a need for greater tāngata whenua involvement in the management of natural resources in the RPC region:


In the Deed of Settlement dated 17 December 2010 between the Crown and Ngāti Pāhauwera, the Crown committed to establish a committee comprised of an equal number of Council members and representatives of Treaty settlement claimant groups whose role would relate to natural resource planning processes that affect the region, and include drafting and recommending to the Council, plan and policy changes affecting natural resources in the region:


The Deed of Settlement dated 25 May 2013 between the Crown and the Maungaharuru-Tangitū Hapū records that the trustees of the Maungaharuru-Tangitū Trust, the Council, and other Hawke’s Bay iwi and hapū have agreed interim terms of reference for the committee that were adopted by the Council on 14 December 2011:


The committee is already operating, but legislation is required to ensure that the committee cannot be discharged except by unanimous written agreement of the appointers and to confirm its role and procedures:

The Parliament of New Zealand therefore enacts as follows: