Electoral (Iwi Organisation and Other Māori Organisation) Regulations 2018


Coat of Arms of New Zealand

Electoral (Iwi Organisation and Other Māori Organisation) Regulations 2018

Patsy Reddy, Governor-General

Order in Council

At Wellington this 24th day of September 2018

Her Excellency the Governor-General in Council

These regulations are made under section 267(ca) of the Electoral Act 1993 on the advice and with the consent of the Executive Council.


1 Title

These regulations are the Electoral (Iwi Organisation and Other Māori Organisation) Regulations 2018.

2 Commencement

These regulations come into force on 26 October 2018.

3 Interpretation

For the purposes of sections 111A to 111F of the Electoral Act 1993, iwi organisation and other Māori organisation means any organisation listed in the Schedule.

Schedule Iwi organisation and other Māori organisation

r 3

Aorangi Māori Trust Board

Hako Tūpuna Trust

Hauraki Māori Trust Board

He Toa Takitini

Hei o Wharekaho Settlement Trust

Heretaunga Tamatea Settlement Trust

Hokotehi Moriori Trust

Kahukuraariki Trust

Mana Ahuriri Incorporated

Mana Ahuriri Trust

Maniapoto Māori Trust Board

Maraeroa A & B Trust

Marutūāhu Rōpū Limited Partnership

Maungaharuru Tangitū Incorporated

Maungaharuru-Tangitū Trust

Muaūpoko Tribal Authority Incorporated

National Urban Māori Authority

Ngā Hapū o Ngāti Ranginui Settlement Trust

Ngā Maunga Whakahii o Kaipara Development Trust

Ngā Tāngata Tiaki o Whanganui

Ngā Taonga o Ngāitakoto Trust

Ngāi Tai ki Tāmaki Tribal Trust

Ngāi Tāmanuhiri Tutu Poroporo Trust

Ngāi Tāmanuhiri Whānui Trust

Ngāitai Iwi Authority

Ngāruahine Iwi Authority

Ngāti Apa ki Te Ra Tō Trust

Ngāti Hauā Iwi Trust

Ngāti Hei Charitable Trust

Ngāti Hineuru Iwi Incorporated

Ngāti Kahu ki Whangaroa Trust Board

Ngāti Kahungunu Iwi Incorporated

Ngāti Kahungunu ki Wairarapa Tamaki nui-ā-Rua Settlement Trust

Ngāti Koata Trust

Ngāti Kurī Trust Board

Ngāti Mākino Iwi Authority

Ngāti Manuhiri Settlement Trust

Ngāti Maru Rūnanga Trust

Ngāti Maru (Taranaki) Fisheries Trust

Ngāti Mutunga O Wharekauri Iwi Trust

Ngāti Pāhauwera Development Trust

Ngāti Paoa Iwi Trust

Ngāti Paoa Trust Board

Ngāti Pūkenga Iwi ki Tauranga Trust

Ngāti Ranginui Iwi Society Incorporated

Ngāti Rangiteaorere Claims Committee

Ngāti Rangiteaorere Koromatua Council Trust

Ngāti Rārua Iwi Trust

Ngāti Rārua Settlement Trust

Ngāti Rehua Ngātiwai ki Aotea Settlement Trust

Ngāti Rehua Trust

Ngāti Tama ki Te Waipounamu Trust

Ngāti Tamaoho Trust

Ngāti Tamaterā Treaty Settlement Trust

Ngāti Tara Tokanui Trust

Ngāti Te Ata Claims Support Whānau Trust

Ngāti Tumutumu Ngāti Rāhiri Settlements Committee

Ngāti Tumutumu Trust

Ngāti Turangitukua Charitable Trust

Ngāti Tūwharetoa (Bay of Plenty) Settlement Trust

Ngāti Tūwharetoa Fisheries Charitable Trust

Ngāti Wai Trust

Ngāti Whanaunga Incorporated

Ngāti Whātua o Kaipara ki te Tonga (Limited)

Ngāti Whātua o Ōrākei Māori Trust Board

Pare Hauraki Cultural Redress Trust

Pare Hauraki Forests Limited Partnership

Pare Hauraki RFR Limited Partnership

Port Nicholson Block Settlement Trust

Pouakani Claims Trust

Ranginui Fisheries Trust

Rangitāne o Manawatū Settlement Trust

Rangitāne o Tamaki nui-a-Rua Incorporated

Rangitāne o Wairarapa Incorporated

Rangitāne Settlement Negotiations Trust

Rangitāne Tū Mai Rā Trust

Raukawa ki te Tonga Trust

Raukawa Settlement Trust

Raukawa Trust Board

Rongowhakaata Charitable Trust

Rongowhakaata Settlement Trust

Tānenuiarangi Manawatū Incorporated

Tapuika Iwi Authority Trust

Taranaki Iwi Trust

Tātau Tātau o Te Wairoa Trust

Taumatawiwi Trust

Te Aitanga ā Māhaki and Affiliates

Te Aitanga ā Māhaki Trust

Te Ākitai Waiohua Iwi Authority

Te Ākitai Waiohua Settlement Trust

Te Arawa Lakes Trust

Te Atiawa Iwi Authority

Te Atiawa ki te Ūpoko o te Ika a Māui Pōtiki Trust

Te Atiawa Manawhenua ki Te Tau Ihu Trust

Te Ātiawa o Te Waka-a-Māui Trust

Te Atiawa (Taranaki) Settlements Trust

Te Au Māro o Ngāti Pūkenga

Te Kaahui o Rauru

Te Kāhui o Taranaki Trust

Te Kapu Ō Waitaha

Te Kawerau Iwi Settlement Trust

Te Kawerau Iwi Tribal Authority

Te Kōmiti Nui o Ngāti Whakaue Trust

Te Kōpere o te iwi o Hineuru Trust

Te Korowai o Ngāruahine Trust

Te Kotahi ā Tūhoe Trust

Te Kotahitanga o Ngāti Tūwharetoa

Te Kotahitanga o Te Arawa Waka Fisheries Trust Board

Te Kōtahitanga o Te Atiawa Trust

Te Kupenga o Ngāti Hako

Te Mana o Ngāti Rangitihi Trust

Te Maru o Ngāti Rangiwewehi

Te Ohu Tiaki o Rangitāne Te Ika a Māui Trust

Te Pātaka a Ngāti Koata

Te Pātiki Trust

Te Patukirikiri Iwi Incorporated

Te Patukirikiri Iwi Trust

Te Pūmautanga o Te Arawa Trust

Te Pūtahitanga ō Ngā Ara Trust

Te Rōpu Whakamana o Te Raupatu o Ngā Hapū o Ngāti Ranginui

Te Roroa Whatu Ora Trust

Te Rūnanga a Iwi o Ngāpuhi

Te Rūnanga-a-Iwi o Ngāti Kahu

Te Rūnanga a Rangitāne o Wairau Trust

Te Rūnanga Nui o Te Aupōuri Trust

Te Rūnanga o Ati Awa ki Whakarongotai Incorporated

Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu

Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Takoto Trust

Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Te Rangi Iwi Trust

Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Apa

Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Awa

Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Kuia Trust

Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Manawa

Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Maru (Taranaki) Trust

Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Mutunga

Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Porou ki Hauraki

Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Ruanui Trust

Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Tama

Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Whare

Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Whātua

Te Rūnanga o Raukawa Incorporated

Te Rūnanga o Te Awa Tupua

Te Rūnanga o Te Rarawa

Te Rūnanga o Te Whānau

Te Rūnanga o Toa Rangatira Incorporated

Te Rūnanga o Whaingaroa

Te Rūnanganui o Ngāti Porou

Te Tāhuhu o Tawakeheimoa Trust

Te Tāwharau o Ngāti Pūkenga Trust

Te Tira Whakaemi o Te Wairoa

Te Tōtarahoe o Paerangi

Te Uri o Hau Settlement Trust

Te Uru Taumatua

Tūhoe Fisheries Charitable Trust

Tūhoe-Waikaremoana Māori Trust Board

Tūwharetoa Māori Trust Board

Tūwharetoa Settlement Trust

Waikato Raupatu Lands Trust

Wairoa-Waikaremoana Māori Trust Board

Waitaha Raupatu Trust

Whakatōhea Māori Trust Board

Michael Webster,
Clerk of the Executive Council.

Explanatory note

This note is not part of the regulations, but is intended to indicate their general effect.

These regulations, which come into force on 26 October 2018, define iwi organisation and other Māori organisation for the purposes of sections 111A to 111F of the Electoral Act 1993 (the Act). Sections 111A to 111F of the Act allow the Electoral Commission to seek the consent of Māori electors to supply certain electoral information to the Tūhono Trust, which supplies the information to iwi organisations and other Māori organisations specified by the electors for the purpose of establishing and maintaining registers of iwi affiliations. The regulations revoke and replace the Electoral (Iwi Organisation and Other Māori Organisation) Regulations 2012 to update the definition of iwi organisation and other Māori organisation by adding 47 new organisations to, and deleting 5 from, the list in existence immediately before the commencement of these regulations.

Issued under the authority of the Legislation Act 2012.

Date of notification in Gazette: 27 September 2018.

These regulations are administered by the Ministry of Justice.