Tariff (Specified PACER Plus Parties) Order 2020


Coat of Arms of New Zealand

Tariff (Specified PACER Plus Parties) Order 2020

Patsy Reddy, Governor-General

Order in Council

At Wellington this 23rd day of November 2020

Her Excellency the Governor-General in Council

This order is made under section 7A(1)(bb) of the Tariff Act 1988 on the advice and with the consent of the Executive Council.


1 Title

This order is the Tariff (Specified PACER Plus Parties) Order 2020.

2 Commencement

This order comes into force on 13 December 2020.

3 Specified PACER Plus parties

The following countries that are parties to PACER Plus are declared to be specified PACER Plus parties for the purposes of the Tariff Act 1988:




Cook Islands:








Solomon Islands:



Michael Webster,
Clerk of the Executive Council.

Explanatory note

This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect.

This order, which comes into force on 13 December 2020, declares Australia, the Cook Islands, Kiribati, Niue, Samoa, Solomon Islands, and Tonga to be specified parties to the Pacific Agreement on Closer Economic Relations Plus (PACER Plus) for the purposes of the Tariff Act 1988. PACER Plus is a free trade agreement, done at Nuku’alofa, Tonga, on 14 June 2017.

The effect of this order is to entitle the countries specified in clause 3 to preferential tariffs set under the Tariff Act 1988 in accordance with PACER Plus.

Issued under the authority of the Legislation Act 2012.

Date of notification in Gazette: 26 November 2020.

This order is administered by the Ministry of Business, Innovation, and Employment.